To P. Hutch!

22 Apr

Friends, if there’s one thing I’ve learned from the social aspect of my college career up until now, it’s that not everyone is going to make you happy.  There will be people who will rain on your parade.  Ruin your birthday.  Steal your scholarships and steal your spotlight.  Belittle you.  Put you in a corner.  Make you want to throw things at them.

But I’m writing this post to prove that there are people out there who really are better than all that!  People who will make you laugh, inspire you and make you feel awesome.  I guess if I were at some big fancy dinner event right now, this would be my toast.  To an awesome guy named P. Hutch.

P. Hutch (aka Professor Hutchins, but that’s obviously way too long) is our music department’s low brass guy, jazz band director and brass ensemble director.  He also helps out our symphonic band by playing with us at concerts.  Yesterday, he played tuba at our concert, and we sounded awesome!  

This morning, I woke up and checked my emails.  P. Hutch had sent me two emails in a row, which made me smile.  The first email was addressed to all six of us in brass ensemble, telling us that he had his root canal this morning, and now temporarily has a smile that looks like this :-/.  That made me laugh.  The second email was just addressed to me, telling me how proud he is of our section, and of me individually.  It was the sweetest thing, and it even made me tear up a little!   A little later, I learned that I wasn’t the only one who received a nice email from P. Hutch.  He had sent them out to several members of our band.  What a class act.

P. Hutch has this theory that even if we’re not playing music for the entire rehearsal, as long as he’s cheering us up, time has not been wasted.  He says that it’s his job as our professor to make sure we don’t go and jump off a bridge or anything.  (Those were pretty much his exact words.)  I like that theory!  I always get a good laugh out of brass ensemble, because, well, P. Hutch is the best.

So here’s to you, P. Hutch!  These are my last few years of making music, and I’m so blessed that I get to spend them under your direction.  Thanks for the words of encouragement, the emphasis on long tones, and the laughs.  I tip my metaphorical hat to you.  🙂

One Response to “To P. Hutch!”

  1. Liz May 9, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    Reblogged this on Hope Is An Anchor and commented:
    This guy…..is quite the guy.

Leave a Reply

